On the Road with Maggie Scratch In Barcelona Today, the Torre Agbar, Pineda de Mar and the Prairie Wind

We were heading out of Barcelona Today to visit a friend on the coast. We passed the Torre Agbar.
agbar

The Torre Agbar reminds me of the time I was the translator for the CEO of the Agbar Water Management Co in Barcelona. His name was Joan and he had slicked back hair, a straight stance and a big paunch. I loved working in his handsome office. He wore fine silk shirts and Christian Dior cologne. He was soft spoken and highly intelligent and being with him I felt important and rich and respected. I liked his secretary too. Montse. She taught me how to respect secretaries. How to talk to a secretary. How to treat a secretary. Secretaries are far more important than anyone realizes. The Torre Agbar is my favorite piece of jewelry. It’s not just a building or an architectural design, it’s a jewel. I heard recently that the new mayor of Barcelona, a woman, has been instrumental in the signing of an agreement to turn this jewel into a hotel. I wonder where Montse is. I don’t think Joan could possibly be CEO without her.

Pineda

November on the Maresme, Pineda de Mar. We were alone. It was sunny. The air smelled like firewood. A sea air, a fresh sea air. Clean and Clear and Sweet and Mild, Salty and Seductive. I could have swallowed the day!

brasIt was flea market day! The bras were like balloons! Beautiful! Colorful! We went for a walk! We ate lobster paella and chocolate birthday cake! We drank wine and coffee and laughed till it got dark.

agbar at nite

Then we drove home with Prairie Wind and Neil Young and the prairie wind blowin through my head, the prairie wind blowin through my head, you see what I mean about the tower being a jewel?

2 thoughts on “On the Road with Maggie Scratch In Barcelona Today, the Torre Agbar, Pineda de Mar and the Prairie Wind

Leave a Reply

