Maggie Scratch in Barcelona Today at the Pool with the Dalai Lama and Helga

“I want to say without hesitation that the purpose of our life is happiness.”

I read the Dalai Lama’s words today before I left for the pool.

pool

That’s my friend Helga, the lifeguard. She’s from Argentina, studying medicine here. She loves medicine, she thinks it’s “beautiful.” Helga and I schmooze after my swim. We agree that there are many problems in the world and that we all have problems, but that it’s better to cortar el rollo, move on, and be happy. Helga and I kiss goodbye.

Helga

I go take a very hot, very wonderful shower.

That’s my locker, the one on the end, on the bottom.

It’s quiet here on Sunday.

lockers

Swimming

is

Happiness

2 thoughts on “Maggie Scratch in Barcelona Today at the Pool with the Dalai Lama and Helga

  1. Susana Gross, Writer says:

    Yes, Ann! It’s being reborn, isn’t it? Another swimmer told me she fills herself with memories in the water. I do almost the opposite. I empty my mind in the water and get new fresh ideas! Bam! They just pop into my head crystal clear. xxoo Happy Day to you dear Ann!

    Like

Leave a Reply

