Maggie Scratch in Barcelona Today, New Year’s Day 2016

happy new year 2016

The best new year’s eve I ever had (and tried to repeat, impossible!) was the first year I came to Spain. I was in Barcelona, but I can’t remember why because I was living in Ibiza at the time, but I remember being in El Barrio Gótico all night, just hanging out with no plans, nowhere in mind, no agenda, just letting the night come on, going from one bar to the next, drinking cava and eating grapes, dancing with myself at the bars, talking with Izzy and the people around us without being able to speak much Spanish at all, getting “tipsy,” (my daughter’s word) and laughing a lot and feeling happy, as if the whole world was a fine place – as if being alive –  was just about the best thing a person could be.

2 thoughts on “Maggie Scratch in Barcelona Today, New Year’s Day 2016

Leave a Reply

