The Author of Maggie Scratch in Her Favorite Thinking Spot

cookie snowy

I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything so beautiful in my memory tree. It’s hard to believe I used to write here. This was my mother’s creation and we called it The Cookie Cottage because all the kids would come here to eat the Soft Batch Chocolate Chip cookies I kept in the little fridge. I wrote mostly in summer and one day I will post pictures of this thinking spot when it’s green. I have so much to write about this thinking spot. It wasn’t my first, but it might be my favorite. It’s still so real to me now, as real as that little blue bird house. I’m swept away by this memory, by all that it brings to mind. It came and went with the passing of time! Life, death, creation, beauty, friendship, love, mourning, endurance! I shared The Cookie Cottage with as many people as time allowed.  This gift, this privileged moment, a flash, a dream, a mystery—I was just visiting!

2 thoughts on “The Author of Maggie Scratch in Her Favorite Thinking Spot

Leave a Reply

