This is Where The Blue Shepherd Began

Actually, The Blue Shepherd began with a dream I had sometime after I took the Story Seminar course for scriptwriters with Robert McKee in Barcelona probably in 1992. But it could have been 1991, or even 1990. The point is, it was many years ago. Robert McKee inspired me. I filled a big fat spiral notebook full of wonderful quotes from that man. Don’t ask me to find that notebook. I’m trying to find all the scrap-makings of The Blue Shepherd and it’s like going on an archaeological dig in the recycle bins of the New York Public Library.

Amazingly enough, I found this letter. For those of you who don’t know Spanish, it’s the letter any scriptwriter who shows a film treatment to a top-notch producer dreams of. I was visiting my parents in Philly at the time I received it. They didn’t need a translation of the names Harrison Ford and Kevin Costner.

 

Letter from Esteban.jpg

Leave a Reply

