Milla, My Norwegian Granddaughter and The Big Picture by Maggie Scratch

Here I am in Oslo. I have to pinch myself because life is such a mystery. How did I get here? How does the trickle of my blood run in Milla’s veins? Ok there are some easy answers, but I’m looking for the big picture. As big as the Norwegian sky. I show that sky to Milla. That is the sky she will know. I will leave that sky. I will return to another sky. And on the other hand, sky is one sky, isn’t it?  This is the big picture I’m looking for. Lately I have been accused of not being political enough. People want me to vote in the US elections. They say I must take a stand. I DO take a stand. I stand for the big picture. Beyond countries, beyond flags, beyond borders and races and religions and sexes and TV and body shapes and hairdos and languages and the circus that is the political arena. My stand is ridiculous I know. It’s completely not doable. I do it anyway though. I stand here under this Norwegian sky rocking my granddaughter to sleep in my arms, her newborn smell of  milk and cookies, kissing this boundless creature and I take a stand to protect all living things, to be the boat and the bridge and the passage for all the sources of life everywhere that reach until the ends of space.

4 thoughts on “Milla, My Norwegian Granddaughter and The Big Picture by Maggie Scratch

  1. Cane says:

    You nailed it, my dear….life is not about politics, religion and sex. Those are just destractions we really It’s about creation, the sky, the earth and love…..and the new born smell of milk and cookies!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

